3

I'm currently thinking about switching to three under (3 fingers under the arrow knock when releasing). I ordered a new bow and wanted to take this as a chance to change or try out a few things.

However, I want my new setup to be compliant for the Instinctive Bow Division of World Archery. Am I allowed to shoot three under there?

2

According to the rulebook, you can either shoot with one finger above or all below but not both.

The bow must be shot using the "Mediterranean" loose (one finger above the arrow nock) or fingers directly below the arrow nock (index finger no more than 2 mm below nock), with one fixed anchor point. The athlete must choose either Mediterranean or fingers under nock, but may not use both. Finger protection when shooting with fingers under the nock must have a continuous surface or connected surface, with no ability to shoot split finger. When using the Mediterranean loose a separator between the fingers to prevent pinching the arrow may be used.

Rulebook

  • I'm not an archer, so this question might sound silly. But the provision that you have to choose one method sounds quite redundant to me: You are allowed to have one finger above the nock (in which case you obviously don't have all of them below), or all fingers below (in which case it is physically/logically impossible to have one above). Is this just some legalese point, or am I missing something here? – anderas Apr 25 at 13:07
  • @anderas Its probably that you can use one method or the other, but you must shoot all your shots with the same method – Reinstate Monica Apr 30 at 22:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.